Ekiti State Governor, Dr Kayode Fayemi, has extended the 24-hour curfew in Ekiti till Monday, 26th of October to enable security agencies restore law and order in the state as well as guarantee the security of lives and properties of the people.

This, he said became necessary in order to forestall unwholesome conduct of some miscreants who capitalised on the #EndSARS protests to perpetrate criminal acts, including robbing, killing and destruction of public and private properties.

Fayemi announced this in Ado Ekiti while inaugurating members of the state’s Judicial Panel of Enquiry into allegations of human rights violations against operatives of the disbanded Special Anti- Robbery Squad, SARS.

He said government would not allow police brutality in the state, hence the setting up of the panel to receive and investigate complaints from families of victims of human rights abuses by the operatives of the disbanded SARS.

Governor Fayemi directed the panel to recommend appropriate sanctions for personnel involved and compensation for victims of police brutality.

He apologised to genuine #ENDSARS protesters in the state over the recent public disturbance which led to imposition of curfew across Ekiti.

The governor asked those with incidences of police brutality in the state to make themselves available before the panel for it to evaluate and ascertain the validity of their evidences for necessary action..

The ten member panel which has six months to conclude its assignment was asked to provide monthly report of its activities to the office of the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice.

The inauguration of the Judicial Panel, chaired by a retired Judge, Justice Cornelius Akintayo, according to the Governor, was the first step by his administration to demonstrate commitment to the concerns of #EndSARS protesters, adding that the panel would avail them the opportunity to speak openly about underlying issues of the agitations.

Other members of the panel are Dipo Ayeni, retired Commissioner of Police; Yetunde Kolawole, State Counsel, representing the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice; Kikelomo Owolabi, Chairperson, Nigerian Bar Association, Ikere Ekiti Branch; Rotimi Ojomoyela, Chairman, Nigerian Union of Journalists, Ekiti State Council; Jamiu Adigun, Representative, National Human Rights Commission; Adeyinka Opaleke, Representative, Legal Aid Council of Nigeria; Akin Rotimi; Caroline Fakinlede, Ekiti State Youths Representative; Omowumi Deborah, Youth Representative; Asiwaju Oladimeji, Youth Representative; and Abiola Johnson-Ogunleye, Ekiti State Students Representative.

The Governor also announced the establishment of a Victims Compensation Fund to enable speedy payment of monetary compensation to deserving victims.

This, according to him, would enable the panel respond appropriately to the urgent needs of victims of rights violations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *