The police in Ekiti State on Tuesday arraigned six persons before an Ado – Ekiti Chief Magistrates ’ Court for rioting and vandalisation of the property of Ekiti State Government during the # EndSARS protests.

The defendants – Adebayo Temitope, 32 ; Ibrahim Musau , 25 ; Eze Oluwabunmi , 32 ; Ogunlusi Abiodun, 20 ; Arowosegbe Esther , 17 ; and Peter Joy , 21 – are standing trial on three counts of conspiracy , illegal assembly and rioting.

The police prosecutor , Mr Caleb Leranmo, told the court that the defendants committed the offence on October in Ikole – Ekiti .

He said, “ The defendants maliciously damaged Ikole Local Government Secretariat building, windows and windscreen of five vehicles which value is yet unknown, all property of the Ekiti State Government ”.

“ The offence is punishable under sections 71 and 451 of the Criminal Code, Cap . C 16 , Laws of Ekiti State, 2012 ,” he said.

After the defendants pleaded not guilty , their counsel, Mr Gbenga Ariyibi and Victoria Adelu, prayed the court to grant bail to the defendants.

The Chief Magistrate, Mr Abdulhamid Lawal , granted bail to the defendants in the sum of N100,000 with one surety each.

He adjourned the matter till December 9 .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *