The Ondo State House of Assembly Deputy Speaker, Ogundeji Iroju, has been impeached.

Ogundeji was impeached on Tuesday with lawmaker representing Odigbo Constituency 2, Aderoboye Samuel elected as the new Deputy Speaker.

The former Deputy Speaker was alleged of gross misconduct which the lawmakers said was inimical to the progress of the Assembly. The motion for the removal of Iroju was moved by Tomide Akinrogunde.

Twenty (20) lawmakers was said to have signed the resolution in line with the Standing Order of the Assembly.

Aderoboye who was the Deputy Speaker of the House during the fourth Assembly in his acceptance speech pledged to work with other stakeholders.

Following the election of a new Deputy Speaker, the Assembly also witnessed major shakeups with the lawmaker representing Owo Constituency 1, Hon. Oluwole Ogunmolasuyi, appointed as the new Majority Leader while Hon. Akingbaso Festus, representing Idanre State Constituency is the new Minority Leader and Hon. Taofeeq Mohammed is the new Chief Whip of the House.

Reacting to his removal, Ogundeji described it as the height of Illegality which will not stand.

According to Ogundeji, the 20 lawmakers needed of the 26 was not met, hence the entire process was a ruse.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *