The meeting of the Peoples Democratic Party Zoning Committee for National Offices ahead of the October 30-31 National Convention has ended inconclusively.

The committee said it had no mandate to zone the positions of the president and the vice president of the country.

The committee adjourned till next week for conclusion of their work.

Addressing journalists after the closed-door meeting that lasted for several hours at the Government House, Enugu, the Chairman of the Committee and Governor of Enugu State, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, said, “We had a fruitful meeting and we adjourned to conclude next week”.

Ugwuanyi stated, “Our committee is strictly limited to the PDP National Executive offices to be contested at the 2021 PDP National Convention scheduled for the end of October, 2021,” stressing, “We have no mandate to zone political offices such as President or Vice President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria”.

The governor maintained that the PDP remained the most credible platform to deliver good and accountable governance to Nigeria, adding that the work of the committee would contribute immensely “in this deliberate search for national officers of our party that will help PDP to achieve the lofty ideals and goals of our founding fathers”.

He, therefore, encouraged members of the committee to be frank, open and constructive in their proposals and debates, and also exhibit consistency with the enormity of their mandate.

“The membership and leadership of this committee have been carefully selected as it is composed of very experienced, competent and eminent Nigerians, who are desirous of repositioning the PDP to play its role, not just as the main opposition political party in Nigeria, but to build a party that offers alternative policy proposals and hope to Nigerians that there is still light at the end of the tunnel,” Ugwuanyi said.

Members of the committee present at the meeting include the Governor of Benue State, Dr. Samuel Ortom, who is the Deputy Chairman; the Deputy Governor of Zamfara State, Mahdi Mohammed, who serves as Secretary; former Presidents of the Senate, Senator Iyorchia Ayu, and Senator Anyim Pius Anyim.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *