On Wednesday, the Senate passed a Bill for the second reading, aiming to establish six additional law schools, one in each of the six geo-political zones. If enacted, this move would bring the total number of law schools to twelve.

All Nigeria Latest News reports that the Bill titled: “A Bill for an Act to amend the Legal Education (Consolidation etc.) Act by establishing the campuses for the Nigerian Law School, and for other related matters” was sponsored by Senator Smart Adeyemi ( APC Kogi West).

During his lead debate on the bill, Senator Adeyemi emphasized the necessity of establishing six additional Law School campuses. He argued that this expansion is crucial to accommodate the annual growth in the number of law graduates seeking admission, considering the existing six law school campuses in the country.

He said: “According to the admission quota of Law Students allocated to all these Universities per year, 5640 students are admitted yearly into their Law Faculties.

“The implication of this data is that, about 5500 Law Graduates are produced from the 55 Universities yearly.

“It should be noted that while the records of the Nigerian Law School indicates that it has the capacity to admit 6510 Students yearly,which ordinarily would have been adequate to accommodate all prospective Law Graduates from the Universities, unfortunately the less than or about 70 per cent yearly performance of the Law School, has over several years accumulated about 30 per cent failure yearly.

“This record implies that about 2000 of the 6510 admitted yearly have to repeat the School for another year, with no automatic guarantee of making it on the second attempt.

“A five year analysis of this spillover of about 2000 students amounts to 10,000, while it builds up to 20,000 over a period of 10 years.

“The consequences of the situation narrated above carries negative financial, psychological, emotional, social and productivity implications on the Law graduates from Universities, their parents, the economy and government of Nigeria.

“In the last five years or more, Law graduates are made to wait for between two to four years, awaiting admission into the Nigerian Law School, due to lack of vacancy to admit them into the few campuses available.

“Much as the standard of the Nigerian Law School has been one of the best across the globe, any attempt to stretch its admission capacity beyond its facilities and human resources will be counter productive as it will negatively affect the welfare and performance of the students.

“Also, to allow the present situation persist for the next few more years will spell doom for this nation in several ways.

“In view of the imminent disaster in our legal industry, this amendment to the Nigerian Council of Legal Education Act is to encourage the Federal Government of Nigeria to increase the number of campuses of the Nigerian Law School to 12, at the minimum, by establishing additional one each in the six geopolitical zones of Nigeria.”.

The existing law school campuses are located in Lagos (South West), Abuja (North Central, Yola – Adamawa – (North East), Kano (North West), Enugu (South East) and Yenegoa – Bayelsa State – (South South)..

However Adeyemi said the six additional campuses being proposed include Ifaki Law School Campus, Ekiti (South West),
Kabba Law School Campus, Kogi (North Central), Maiduguri Law School Campus, Borno (North East), Argungu Law School Campus, Kebbi (North West), Okija Law School Campus, Anambra (South East) and Orogun Law School Campus, Delta (South South).

Senators in their contribution, supported the Bill and approved that it be read for a second time when it was put to voice vote by Senate President Ahmad Lawan..Lawan later referred the Bill to the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters for further legislative work and to report back in four weeks.

Do you want to share story with us? You want to advertise with us? You need publicity for product, or service?

Contact us on WhatsApp +2349032984893 or email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *