Russia has slammed a ban on the United Kingdom Prime Minister, Boris Johnson and other senior ministers over the war in Ukraine.

The country, which banned US President Joe Biden in March, accused Britain of hostility following its invasion of its neighbour.

A statement at the weekend by the Foreign Ministry explained that the decision was in retaliation to UK’s sanctions.

It cited “London’s unbridled information and political campaign…creating conditions for containing our country and strangling the domestic economy.”

Russia said the British leadership is aggravating the situation around Ukraine, providing lethal weapons to Kyiv and coordinating similar efforts with NATO.

UK and US have announced further sanctions on Russia including financial measures targeting the economy, President Vladimir Putin, top officials and others.

Full list of banned UK officials: PM Boris Johnson; Foreign Secretary Liz Truss; Defence Secretary Ben Wallace; Deputy Prime Minister, Lord Chancellor, and Secretary of State for Justice Dominic Raab; Secretary of State for Transport Grant Shapps.

Home Secretary Priti Patel; The Chancellor Rishi Sunak; Minister of Entrepreneurship, Energy and Industrial Strategy Kwasi Kwarteng; Minister of Digitalization, Culture, Media and Sport Nadine Dorries.

Minister for the Armed Forces James Heappey; First Minister of Scotland Nicola Sturgeon; Attorney General for England and Wales and advocate general for Northern Ireland Suella Braverman; Conservative MP and former British Prime Minister Theresa May.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.