Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, former Lagos State Governor, secured the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential ticket on the previous day with a total of 1,271 votes. He will be the flagbearer for the ruling party in the upcoming year.

He emerged victorious in the elective primary, surpassing 13 other aspirants for the APC presidential ticket.

Former Transportation Minister, Rotimi Amaechi, secured 316 votes, trailing behind Asiwaju Bola Tinubu. Vice President Yemi Osinbajo secured 235 votes, placing third in the competition.

Senate President Ahmed Lawan received 152 votes, Governor Yahaya Bello (Kogi) secured 47 votes, Dave Umahi (Ebonyi) attained 38 votes, and Prof. Ben Ayade (Cross River) gathered 37 votes in the APC presidential primary.

Senator Ahmed Sani Rufai received four votes, while former Minister of Science, Technology & Innovation Ogbonnaya Onu and Minister of State for Education Chukwuemeja Nwaujiba each secured one vote in the APC presidential primary.

Former Imo State governor Rochas Okorocha, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Tein Jack-Rich and Chief Ikeobasi Mokelu had no vote.

The signal for Tinubu’s victory manifested before voting by the accredited 2,203 delegates began voting at the Eagle Square venue of the convention in Abuja.

Seven of the initial 23 aspirants – Governor Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti); Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa); former Niger Delta Affairs Minister Godswill Akpabio; Senators Ibikunle Amosun and Ajayi Boroffice; former House of Representatives Speaker Dimeji Bankole and Mrs. Uju Kennedy-Ohaneye – stepped down for him.

Former Senate President, Senator Ken Nnamani had withdrawn from the race before the convention.

The Eagle Square went into frenzy moment when the Election Management Committee of the presidential primary announced the winner of the primary.

The figures
Bola Tinubu – 1,271
Rotimi Amaechi – 316
Yemi Osinbajo – 235
Ahmed Lawan – 152
Yahaya Bello Kogi – 47
Dave Umahi – 38
Ben Ayade – 37
Ahmed Sani Yerima – 4
Ogbonnaya Onu – 1
Emeka Nwaujiba – 1
Rochas Okorocha – 0
Tunde Bakare – 0
Tein Jack-Rich – 0
Ikeobasi Mokelu – 0

One thought on “How Tinubu won APC ticket”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *