On Thursday, a total of 19 newly appointed Resident Electoral Commissioners are currently being sworn in by the Independent National Electoral Commission, All Nigeria Latest News reports.

On October 5, 2022, the Senate confirmed the appointments of the 19 Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs).

President Muhammadu Buhari had in July submitted the names of 19 nominees for confirmation as Resident Electoral Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission to the Senate.

The renewal nominees confirmed include Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa); Obo Effanga (Cross River); Umar Ibrahim (Taraba); Agboke Olaleke (Ogun); and Professor Samuel Egwu (Kogi).

Those confirmed for fresh appointment are Onyeka Ugochi (Imo); Muhammad Bashir (Sokoto); Ayobami Salami, a professor, (Oyo); Zango Abdu (Katsina); Queen Agwu (Ebonyi); and Agundu Tersoo (Benue); Yomere Oritsemlebi (Delta); Yahaya Ibrahim, a professor, (Kaduna); Nura Ali (Kano); Agu Uchenna (Enugu); Ahmed Garki (FCT); Hudu Yunusa (Bauchi); Uzochukwu Chijioke, a professor, (Anambra); and Mohammed Nura (Yobe).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *