The Ekiti State House of Assembly has reinstated three lawmakers, namely Yemisi Ayokunle, Ajibade Raphael, and Tope Ogunleye, who were previously suspended from participating in the activities of the House.

The reinstatement of the three lawmakers was facilitated through the adoption of a motion presented by the Leader of the House, Bode Adeoye, during the plenary session on Tuesday.

The motion, which was seconded by Biodun Fawekun, received unanimous adoption from the members of the House.

Prior to the reinstatement, the Speaker of the House, Olubunmi Adelugba, had read letters of apology written by the three lawmakers during the plenary session.

The lawmakers tendered apologies for not adhering to the directive of their party, the All Progressives Congress, regarding the selection of a Speaker to replace the late Funminyi Afuye, who passed away on the 19th of October, 2022, after a brief illness.

Earlier, one of the suspended lawmakers, Kemi Balogun, who represents Ado Constituency II, had apologized and was reinstated on Monday, October 28, 2022.

With the recent lifting of the suspension, a total of four out of the initially suspended seven lawmakers have now been reinstated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *