Data from the National Universities Commission revealed that no fewer than 19 federal, state and private universities were approved for operations between January and December 2022.

A breakdown of the 19 approved universities revealed that only one federal university, King David Umahi University of Medical Sciences, in Uburu, Ebonyi State, was approved in 2022.

According to the Punch, a total of six state universities were approved in 2022.

The Lagos University of Education, Ijanikin; the Lagos University of Science and Technology, Ikorodu; the Shehu Shagari University of Education, Sokoto; the Enugu State University of Medicine and Applied Sciences, Igbo-Eno; and the Emmanuel Alayande University of Education, Oyo State, are among them.

Further analysis revealed that the remaining 12 approved universities were all privately owned.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *