All Nigeria Latest News reports that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has officially declared Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), as the winner of the 2023 presidential election held last Saturday.

INEC’s Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, declared Tinubu the winner of the election early Wednesday, confirming that he met the conditions outlined in the Electoral Act.

In the declared result, Tinubu polled 8,794,726 votes to defeat Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Peter Obi of the Labour Party.

Atiku scored 6,984,520 votes to come second, while Obi came third, garnering 6,101,533 votes to come third.

Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) got 1,496,687 votes to come fourth in the presidential election.

The APC’s presidential candidate won in 12 States, while Atiku won 12 States, just as Obi won in 11 States and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). Kwankwaso won in one State.

Tinubu won in Ogun, Ondo, Ekiti, Oyo, Kogi, Benue, Rivers, Kwara, Jigawa, Zamfara, Borno and Niger States.

Atiku won in Osun, Kaduna, Gombe, Katsina, Sokoto, Bayelsa, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Kebbi, Taraba, Adamawa, Yobe and

Obi won in Lagos, Imo, Anambra, Enugu, Abia, Ebonyi, FCT, Delta, Edo, Plateau, Cross River and Nasarawa States.

Kwankwaso won only Kano States.

Though Tinubu won the election, the biggest upset was when he lost Lagos for the first time since 1999. He lost to Obi of the Labour Party. He scored 572,606 votes to lose to Obi, who polled 582,454 votes. Despite losing Lagos, the state gave him the biggest votes in the election.

Places where he won are: Oyo, 449,884 votes; Ondo, 369,924 votes; Ekiti, 201,494, Ogun, 341,554; Kwara, 263,572 votes; Jigawa, 421,390 votes; Zamfara, 298,396 votes; Borno, 252,282 votes; Benue, 310,468 votes; Kogi, 240,751 votes; Niger, 375,183 and Rivers, 231,591 votes.

Also, Atiku won in Yobe, 198,567 votes; Katsina, 489,045 votes; Taraba, 189,017 votes; Bayelsa, 68,818 votes; Akwa Ibom, 214,012 votes; Kaduna, 554,360 votes; Sokoto, 288,679 votes; Adamawa; 417,611 votes; Osun, 354,366; Gombe, 319,123; Yobe, 198,567; Katsina, 489,045; Bayelsa, 68,818, among others.

Obi won in Ebonyi, 259,738 votes; Anambra, 584,621 votes; Abia, 327,095 votes; Plateau, 466,272 votes; Cross River, 179,917 votes; Nasarawa, 191, 361 votes; Enugu, 428,640 votes; Imo, 352,904 votes; Delta, 341,866 votes; Abuja, 281, 717 and Edo, 331,163.

With the victory, Tinubu has been declared President-elect of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

See full results at a Glance

One thought on “INEC declares APC’s Tinubu winner of Nigeria’s Presidential election”
  1. There is still an unfortunate habit of election violence, over voting and also political thuggeries which happened to be the most Nigeria’s bad habit in terms of election and social relation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *