Oyo State Governor Seyi Makinde and his People’s Democratic Party (PDP) appear to be heading for victory in yesterday’s governorship election in Oyo State.

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of All Progressives Congress (APC) also appears to be winning after recovering from the shock of the party’s unexpected defeat in last month’s presidential election in the state.

Early results in Kwara State are also in favour of Governor Abdulrahman AbdulRasaq.

Same applies to PDP’s Siminilaye Fubara in River State and APC’s Prince Bassey Otu in Cross River.

The results however show tight contests in Ogun State between incumbent Governor Dapo Abiodun and PDP’s Ladipo Adebutu, and in Ebonyi State between APC’s Francis Nwifuru, All Progressive Grand Alliance’s (APGA’s) Bernard Odoh and PDP’s Ifeanyi Odii. But Abiodun, in a tweet on his official handle @dabiodunMFR at about 10pm yesterday assured his supporters that there was no cause for alarm.

His words: “With the look of things, it is safe to tell our well-wishers ‘e lo fokan bale’ DA 4+4 is sacrosanct!”

Many of the results were on the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) portal last night.

Labour Party’s (LP’s) governorship candidate in Lagos State, Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour, who had hoped to cash in on the momentum of his party’s defeat of the APC in the presidential election, was roundly beaten across the state yesterday, losing his polling unit 01 at Oshifila Street, Anifowoshe, Ikeja to Sanwo-Olu.

Rhodes-Vivour polled only 18 votes to the governor’s 29 while Peoples Democratic Party’s Olajide Adeniran got only two.

Some of the results in Lagos:

Ibeju-Lekki local government Governorship Result: APC: 1,535; PDP: 124; LP: 226

House of Assembly results: APC: 1483; PDP: 176; LP: 218

Final Results at Ward F Agege: Governorship

 APC: 3292; LP: 929; PDP: 214

House of Assembly APC: 3126; LP: 1003; PDP: 191.

Ikosi-Ejirin LCDA Governorship: APC: 6594; PDP: 1181; LP: 159

Ibeju-Lekki LG Ward A Governorship: APC: 1,535; PDP:176; LP:218.

Reports from Kwara State showed that Governor AbdulRasak recorded 867 votes in Oro Ward 1 against 456 for PDP’s Alhaji Shuaib Yaman Abdullah. The governor also got 1788 votes in Oro Ward 2 while Abdullah received 600.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *