The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has officially declared Governor Ahmadu Fintiri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of the governorship election in Adamawa State.

Governor Ahmadu Fintiri emerged victorious in the supplementary election, securing a total of 9,337 votes. His closest rival, Aisha Dahiru, better known as Binani, came second with a total of 6,513 votes.

Mr Fintiri and Binani are the major contenders in the governorship poll.

The supplementary poll was held in 69 polling units in the 20 local governments in the state, with less than 40,000 eligible voters.

Before the March 18 governorship poll was declared inconclusive, Governor Ahmadu Fintiri was leading with a margin of over 30,000 votes.

In both the main election and the rerun, Governor Ahmadu Fintiri secured a total of 430,861 votes, while the APC candidate scored 398,788 votes.

The INEC Returning Officer in the state, Mohammed Mele, announced the final election results.

Professor Mohammed Mele confirmed that the PDP governorship candidate had met the constitutional requirements and was duly returned as the governor of the state.

See the results of the supplementary election below.

Total registered voters 42,929

Accredited voters 16,423

AA 2

AAC 28

ADP 40

APC 6,513


APM 03

APP 02

LP 03


NRM 35

PDP 9,337

PRP 03

SDP 05

YPP 06

ZLP 01

Total 15,999

Rejected votes 399

Total votes cast 16,398

Total Election Results

Total registered voters 21965666

Accredited voters 876,387

Result of the 18 March election
AA 643

ADC 324

ADP 2,174

APC 398,788

APGA 892

APM 606

APP 286

LP 2,732

NNPP 4,852

NRM 1,272

PDP 430,861

PRP 1,188

SDP 6,870

YPP 1,431

ZLP 200

Total valid votes 853,819

Rejected votes 15,287

Total votes cast 869,106

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *