Senator Godswill Akpabio has defeated Senator Abdul’aziz Yari to emerge the new Senate President on Tuesday.

All Nigeria Latest News reports that the former Akwa Ibom governor was returned elected as President of the 10th Senate after scoring 63 votes defeating Senator Yari who scored 46 votes.

Senator Akpabio was sworn in as the President of the Senate for the 10th National Assembly, succeeding Senator Ahmad Lawan, who is also a member of the 10th Senate.

Voting commenced at precisely 08:45 am on Tuesday, conducted on a state-by-state basis in alphabetical order. The voting process concluded at exactly 09:15 am, and Senator Akpabio was sworn in as President of the Senate at 09:44 am.

Nominations were submitted for Senator Yari and Senator Akpabio, following which the Clerk of the Senate declared nominations closed in the absence of additional submissions.

The competition unfolded between Senator Yari, the former governor of Zamfara State, and Senator Akpabio, a former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs and ex-governor of Akwa Ibom State.

Akpabio and Yari hold prominent positions as chieftains within the All Progressives Congress (APC). Despite protests from the former Zamfara governor, who sought a review of the party’s endorsement of the former minister, the APC maintained its stance. Additionally, the party endorsed Barau Jibrin from the North-West for the position of Deputy Senate President.

Scores of APC Senators in Yari’s camp had also rejected the party’s position and called for a review of the formula, arguing that the North-West gave the President the highest vote and therefore deserves to be compensated.

Some APC members had entreated Yari to drop his ambition to make it a smooth sail for Akpabio but the former governor vowed to fight to the finish.

In the recently concluded elections, the ruling APC clinched approximately 70 seats in the Red Chamber, marking the highest tally among all parties. The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Labour Party (LP), and the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) followed in securing seats.

Numerous APC lawmakers had expressed interest in becoming the next Senate President, yet some of the aspirants withdrew from the race, ultimately paving the way for either Akpabio or Yari to be considered for the position.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *