Senator Godswill Akpabio, the President of the Senate, has declared Senator Opeyemi Bamidele of the APC, representing Ekiti Central, as the Senate Majority Leader, and former Senate Leader, Senator Ali Ndume of the APC, representing Borno South, as the Senate Chief Whip.

Reading the letter from the All Progressives Congress (APC), Akpabio additionally revealed Senator Dave Umahi, representing Ebonyi South, as the Deputy Leader, and Senator Lola Ashiru, representing Kwara South, as the Deputy Whip.

All Nigeria Latest News reports that Akpabio who entered the hallowed Chamber at 11.18am, immediately prayed at 11,20an and asked Senator Orji Uzor Kalu, APC, Abia North to move for the adoption of Votes and Proceedings of 14th June and seconded by Senator Ezenwa, Imo East.

Recall that the four candidates nominated by the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, for Senate and House of Representatives leadership won their elections in June.

The four endorsed candidates are Senate President Akpabio, Deputy Senate President Jibrin Barau, House of Representatives Speaker Tajudeen Abbas, and Deputy Speaker Benjamin Kalu.

Barau and Kalu emerged unopposed, while Akpabio secured victory after a challenging contest, and Abass achieved a landslide victory over his two opponents.

In the Senate, where all 109 senators participated, Akpabio, a former governor of Akwa Ibom State and one-time Senate Minority leader, secured 63 votes, surpassing the former governor of Zamfara State, Senator Abdulaziz Yari (APC, Zamfara West), who received 46 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *