The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has officially announced Senator Douye Diri, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the incumbent Governor of Bayelsa State, as the winner of the recently concluded governorship election in the state, All Nigeria Latest News reports.

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party garnered 175, 196 votes  to defeat his closest rival, Chief Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who scored 110,108 with the Labour Party candidate Udengs Eradiri, scoring 905  to come a distant third.

Diri won in six out of the eight local government areas as he coasted home to victory in Yenagoa, Kolokuma-Opokuma, Sagbama, Ekeremor, Ogbia and Southern Ijaw while Sylva won in Brass and Nembe local government areas.

Prof. Kuta Farouk, who is the Vice-Chancellor, Federal University of Technology, Minna and the State Collation Officer declared the result.

Prof. Farouk said Diri having satisfied all constitutional provisions was hereby declared the winner.

Farouk while reading out the results said registered voters were 1,056,862 but that only 372,000 were accredited to participate in the election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *