There was commotion in the Upper Chamber of the National Assembly on Tuesday after the declaration of Senator Osita Ngwu, representing Enugu West, as the new Senate Minority Whip, All Nigeria Latest News reports.

Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, had named Ngwu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the minority leader.

The development did not go down well with some Labour Party senators.

Senator Okechukwu Ezea from Enugu North objected to the nomination, and his personal objection received support from Senator Tony Nwoye of the Labour Party. Nwoye challenged the allocation of three minority leadership slots to the PDP, leaving the Labour Party without representation in the Senate leadership.

Following a heated argument, the President of the Senate upheld the majority decision, which favored the PDP for the position of Senate Minority Whip.

Ngwu takes over from Labour Party’s Sen. Darlington Nwokwocha, who represented Abia Central district until his removal by the Court of Appeal in Lagos on November 4.

In the same session, Akpabio appointed Abba Moro, the representative of Benue South, as the new Minority Leader of the Senate. Moro replaces Sen. Simon Nwadkwon from Plateau North, a member of the PDP who was ousted by the court on October 23.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *