In the council elections held on Saturday in Ekiti, candidates from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) secured victories across the board, claiming all 38 chairmanship and 177 councillorship seats, All Nigeria Latest News reports.

The declaration of the election results, with candidates from the All Progressives Congress winning all 38 chairmanship and 177 councillorship seats, was announced by the Ekiti State Independent Electoral Commission in Ado-Ekiti on Sunday.

Returning Officers in the local government areas and local council development areas presented the election results for the various council areas at the headquarters of Ekiti State Independent Electoral Commission (EKSIEC).

Retired Justice Cornelius Akintayo, the EKSIEC Chairman, commended the electorate in Ekiti for the peaceful conduct of the election.

Akintayo also commended parties that took part in the election for their sportsmanship; EKSIEC staff who worked on the field; security agents and the media for a job well done.

He listed political parties that participated in the election as Action Alliance (AA), Action Democratic Congress (ADC), African Democratic Party (ADP), and the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Others, he said, were the Labour Party (LP), the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), and the Zenith Labour Party ZLP.

EKSIEC commissioners and principal officers joined Akintayo at the presentation of the election results.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *