The Federal Executive Council (FEC) has given its approval for the complete implementation of the Stephen Oronsaye Panel report. This will involve the merging of certain parastatals, agencies, and commissions, while others will either be absorbed, abolished, or relocated.

Mohammed Idris, Minister of Information and National Orientation, made this known to State House correspondents during a media briefing after the FEC meeting presided over by President Bola Tinubu.

The 2012 report, commissioned by former President Goodluck Jonathan, had called for the consolidation, merger or scrapping of numerous redundant and inefficient government parastatals. 

Idris said: “There is a landmark decision that was taken by the Federal Executive Council today. Recall that in 2012, the administration of former President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan instituted the so-called Orosanye Report. It is aimed at rationalizing the federal government parastatals, agencies and commissions. 

“Now, a paper was turned-in in 2012, but the implementation got stalled. Again, in 2021, almost seven years after that, the former President Muhammadu Buhari also initiated a process to consider the 2014 white paper on the Orosanye Report. Again, the implementation of that also got stalled. Now, instead of the rationalisation, that that Orosanye Report was aimed to achieve, many other agencies and commissions were established. 

“In a very bold move today, this administration, under the leadership of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, consistent again with his courage to take very far-reaching decisions in the interest of Nigerians, has taken a decision to implement the so called Orosanye Report. 

“Now, what that means is that a number of agencies, commissions, and some departments have actually been scrapped, some have been merged, while others have been subsumed. Others, of course, have also been moved from some ministries to others where government feels they will operate better.

“Like I said, this is a very far-reaching decision. It is aimed, one, to fine-tune or to restructure government operations as a whole. Secondly, it’s in line also with decision of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu to reduce the cost of governance.”

Below are Key Recommendations For Implementation:

  1. National Salaries, Income and wages Commission to be subsumed under Revenue Mobilisation and Fiscal Commission. The National Assembly will need to amend the constitution as RMAFC was established by the constitution.
  2. Infrastructure Concession and Regulatory Commission to be merged with Bureau of Public Enterprise and be rechristened as `Public Enterprises and Infrastructural Concession Commission.
  3. National Human Rights Commission to swallow Public Complaints Commission
  4. Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate(PTAD) to be scrapped and functions to be taken over by Federal Ministry of Finance.
  5. NEMA and National Commission for Refugees to be fused to become National Emergency and Refugee Management Commission.
  6. Border Communities Development Agency to become a department under National Boundary Commission.
  7. NACA and NCDC to be merged.
  8. SERVICOM to become a department under the Bureau for Public Service Reform(BPSR).
  9. NALDA to return to the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security.
  10. Federal Ministry of Science to supervise a new agency that combines NCAM, NASENI and PRODA.
  11. National Commission for Museums and Monuments and National Gallery of Arts to become one entity that will be known as National Commission for Museums, Monuments and Gallery of Arts.
  12. National Theatre to be merged with National Troupe.
  13. Directorate of Technical Cooperation in Africa and Directorate of Technical Aid Corp to be merged under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
  14. Nigerians in Diaspora Commission to become an agency under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
  15. Federal Radio Corporation and Voice of Nigeria to be one entity to be known as Federal Broadcasting Corporation of Nigeria.
  16. National Biotechnology Development Agency(NABDA) and National Centre for Genetic Resources and Biotechnology to be emerged into an agency to be known as National Biotechnology Research and Development Agency(NBRDA).
  17. National Institute for Leather Science Technology and National Institute for Chemical Technology to become one agency.
  18. Nigeria Natural Medicine Development Agency and National Institute of Pharmaceutical Research and Development to become one agency.
  19. The National Metallurgical Development Centre and National Metallurgical Training Institute will be merged.
  20. National Institute for Trypanosomiasis to be subsumed under Institute of Veterinary Research in Vom, Jos.
  21. The Niger Delta Power Holding Company to be relocated to the Ministry of Power.
  22. The National Agricultural Land Development Agency to be relocated to the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security.
  23. The National Blood Service Commission to be converted into an agency and relocated to the Ministry of Health.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *