Napoli star striker, Victor Osimhen has made the final list for the 2023 CAF Best Player award, a statement from the football body has shown, All Nigeria Latest News reports.

“CAF has announced the shortlists for the men’s categories for the CAF Awards 2023,” the African football governing body said on Friday.

The Nigeria striker, who is the overwhelming favourite, is the only Nigerian to make the cut and will be aiming to cap off an impressive year in which he won the Italian Scuddeto and top scorer gong in the league.

A few weeks ago, Osimhen secured the eighth position in the 2023 Ballon d’Or awards held in Paris, France. Notable players in the final 10 nominees for the CAF award include the current holder Sadio Mane from Senegal, Riyad Mahrez of Algeria, and Achraf Hakimi of Morocco, among others.

Final Shortlist For 2023 CAF Best Player Prize

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria, Al Ahli)
Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon, SSC Napoli)
Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon, Besiktas)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)
Achraf Hakimi (Morocco, Paris Saint-Germain)
Sofyan Amrabat (Morocco, Manchester United)
Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)
Youssef En-Nesyri (Morocco, Sevilla)
Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, SSC Napoli)
Sadio Mane (Senegal, Al Nassr)

The Awards Gala is scheduled for Monday, December 11, 2023, in Marrakech, Morocco.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *